Organization & Members

The City of Bowie operates under the council/manager form of municipal government.  With this structure, the City

Council and Mayor are elected by the citizens.  It is under the direction of the council and mayor to hire a professional

administrator, known as the city manager.  The city manager executes council policy and manages the day-to-day

operations of the city.

The Mayor and six City Council members make up the seven-person council for the City of Bowie.  The entire council

is elected at large by the voters of the city.  Each member serves a staggered two-year term.  The Mayor and City

Council members may serve in their respective seat for a maximum of three consecutive terms.  Regular City Council

elections are held in the November elections.

                                                                           Mayor: Gaylynn Burris

                                                                           Mayor Pro Tem: Jason Love

                                                                           North Pct. 1 : Brent Shaw

                                                                           North Pct. 1 : Laura Sproles

                                                                           South Pct. 2:  Kristi Bates

                                                                           South Pct. 2:  Jason Love

                                                                           East Pct. 3:    Stephanie Post

                                                                           East Pct. 3:    Terry Gunter

                                                                           City Manager: Bert Cunningham

                                                                           City Secretary: Sandy Page

                                                                           City Attorney: Courtney Morris

Additional Contact Information
To contact the Mayor or a Council member, please contact the City Secretary, come by the council's city office at 307 N. Mason Street or call 940-872-1114 ext. 121